Evil Yumminess in the Land of Giant Cupcakes

October 20, 2010

Spice Cake…The Quest Continues!

Filed under: Cake,spice cake,Uncategorized — by queenofevilyumminess @ 10:48 AM
Tags: , ,

Being obsessed with making the old spice cake recipe a success (see Spice Cake…The Quest), I made yet another batch of cupcakes. I also had buttermilk which was going out of date and needed used. I hate going to the local grocery store, the only option in town for buttermilk, and having said milk be out of date in like three days. Very, very annoying, but typical small town life, I guess. Anyway, I decided to add ton more spice into the recipe. Here is the original recipe:

1 cup sugar
1/2 cup butter
2 eggs
1 cup sour milk (aka buttermilk)
1 cup raisins, chopped (which I omitted because I despise raisins)
1/2 tsp cloves
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg (I used allspice since I didn’t have nutmeg)
1 tsp soda in sour milk
2 large cups flour

The second time I made it (after having raided my mom’s spice rack), I used the following recipe:

1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup butter
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup buttermilk
1/2 tsp allspice
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp ginger
1 tsp soda in sour milk
2 cups flour

I chose to replace half the white sugar with light brown sugar, hoping it would give the cake a richer taste. I added in the ginger, which made the cake taste a bit sweeter. Personally, I think the addition of the ginger made the biggest improvement on the flavor of the cake. This time, the cake was much darker in color, although still not as dark as the box mix cake. I didn’t take any pictures, unfortunately. This recipe was also not quite as intensely spiced as the box mix cake, so if you are wanting a really spiced cake, I would recommend adding larger portions of the spices. I would also recommend using cloves instead of just allspice. The allspice container says that 1 tsp of allspice equals 1 tsp of cloves, but I’m wondering if it would be better to use both 1/2 tsp of allspice and 1/2 tsp of ground cloves. I guess I’ll have to wait and try that the next time I make the cake from scratch.

Something else that occurs to me as I’m typing up this post is that some people may like (or need) the actual instructions for preparing the cake. I sometimes forget that not everyone is experienced enough in baking to NOT need the instructions. So, here are the instructions for how I mixed the cake.

  1. Cream together butter, white sugar, and brown sugar with an electric mixer or stand mixer. Mix until light and fluffy.
  2. Add eggs one at a time, mixing thoroughly eat time.*
  3. Add vanilla.
  4. Sift the flour and spices together into a separate bowl.
  5. Measure out the buttermilk and then add the baking soda to the buttermilk. Stir so that the soda is incorporated.
  6. Add 1/3 of the flour and spice mixture to the batter. Mix BY HAND** just until all flour is incorporated into the batter***. Then, add in 1/2 of the buttermilk, mixing again until incorporated. Repeat process, making sure to end with the addition of the remaining flour and spice mixture.
  7. Pour into a greased and floured pan. Bake at 350 degrees.

Please note: This recipe made only about 18 cupcakes instead of the usual amount of 24. So the batch is a little smaller than normal.

* Make sure that each egg is mixed thoroughly, meaning the batter shouldn’t be slimy looking, before adding the next egg. This is a good rule in general for preparing cake and cookie batter.

** I read somewhere that mixing in the flour and buttermilk by hand makes a difference in the texture of the cake. I’m not sure if this is true or not, but I choose to complete the mixing of the batter by hand.

*** I read somewhere, probably in the same place as the previous footnote, that it is really important not to add either buttermilk to a batter when then flour has not been totally mixed into the batter (and vice versa).

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

