Evil Yumminess in the Land of Giant Cupcakes

September 22, 2010

Amazing Banana Nut Bread

Filed under: banana,banana bread,bread,Uncategorized,walnut — by queenofevilyumminess @ 12:03 PM
Tags: , , , , ,

My coworker (Tanya the Enabler) and I always try to make goodies for the birthday’s of the office’s staff members. This is a good excuse for us to bake, not that we really need much of an excuse, but it helps get us off the hook with our significant others when they think we’ve already been doing too much baking (which is always). The current birthday person requested banana bread.

I’ve only baked banana bread once before, but the recipe is one of my mother’s which means it is going to be totally yummy! It makes two good sized loaves of bread. This was a good thing since I NEEDED to do a quality check on the bread before I took it in to work. You can translate that “NEEDED” however you like, but what it really means is that I couldn’t wait an extra day to eat some. I’m impatient! It is torture to bake something as yummy looking and fantastic smelling as banana walnut bread from scratch and then be forced to wait over 24 hours before eating any of it! I just couldn’t do it.

I mean, MMMMMMMMM, look at that bread! Who could resist?

Something I find interesting about baking this bread is that it doesn’t brown up until right before it is done. The first time I baked it, I was totally freaking out because it wasn’t getting brown at all. I had to call my mother and ask her if I’d done something wrong. She assured me that everything would come out okay, and, of course, she was correct. The bread came out a nice brown color, was moist, and was in general fantastic. Her recipe also comes with a Banana Glaze/Icing made with real butter and ripe banana. Slurp, excuse me. I had to wipe up the drool.

Unfortunately, the lighting in my kitchen is quite poor, so the color of the bread didn’t really come through in this last picture. They were not as dark as they appear. The first picture shows the true color of the bread. The loaf pans that I had on hand were a bit wider than I would have liked so the bread turned out rather short. I would have preferred to have a narrower pan that produced a taller loaf.

I asked my mother who gave her this recipe, but she had no idea. There was no name on the card and it was written in her handwriting. She just said she knew it was an old on, but not from my grandma. The title on the card is actually called “Banana Walnut Cake.” Cake, bread…whatever, it is still a great recipe!

Banana Walnut Bread

2 cup sugar
1/2 cup butter
2 eggs
3 cup flour
pinch of salt
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
8 to 10 tbsp buttermilk (I used 10)
3 mashed ripe bananas
1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour two loaf pans.

Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, mixing just until incorporated (not slimy looking). Mix in flour and salt. Measure out the buttermilk into a small bowl and then stir the baking soda into the buttermilk before adding the mixture to the batter. Next peel and mash the bananas before adding it to the batter. Add the chopped nuts last and stir gently to distribute them in the batter.

Pour batter immediately into the prepared pans, dividing evenly between the two pans, and bake for about an hour, or until golden brown. Toothpick should come out clean.

Speedy Banana Frosting

1/4 cup butter, room temperature
1 pound powdered sugar (they still sell 1 pound boxes of powdered sugar; or 1 pound = about 4 cups unsifted)
1/2 cup mashed ripe bananas
1/2 tsp lemon juice

Directions:

Combine butter and powdered sugar. Mix until smooth. Add in the bananas and the lemon juice. Mix until incorporated and smooth. Frosting can be added to bread either when it is still warm or when it has totally cooled. Your choice.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

