Evil Yumminess in the Land of Giant Cupcakes

June 11, 2010

Lemon, Lemon, Lemon Cupcakes

Filed under: Cake,Cupcake,Lemon — by queenofevilyumminess @ 10:16 AM
Tags: , , , , , , ,

My husband’s Mother just celebrated her birthday the other day and his Uncle Mark asked me to bring something lemon to the part. First he wanted a lemon cake with lemon frosting. Then, he changed his mind and wanted lemon cupcakes with lemon filling and lemon frosting…thus the lemon, lemon, lemon cupcakes. I search high and low online for some yummy recipes for a lemon filling. I don’t like most lemon stuff because it is just too, well, lemony.  Too tart for my tastes. I really like the Duncan Hines Lemon cake mix, so I opted to just use that for the cupcake instead of making something from scratch. From-scratch was just too much work! So, I prepared the mix as directed on the box and baked up my cupcakes.

I looked and looked and looked for an idea for the filling. I really had no desire to go to the trouble of making my own lemon curd. I finally found one that involved sugar-free lemon pudding and lemon yogurt mixed together. This one sounded promising, but at the last minute my mother convinced me to use Cool Whip in place of the yogurt. This toned down the lemon pudding considerably and made a nice smooth cool filling for the cupcakes. I made one small package of the sugar-free instant lemon pudding the night before and then added about a cup of Cool Whip to the pudding right before I was ready to fill the cupcakes. I was quite pleased with the end result

To fill the cupcakes (again, sorry no pictures!) I took a small flower shaped cookie cutter (about 1.25 inches across) and pressed it into the center of the cupcake to create a plug of cake. I then carefully and gently twisted the cutter while it was still in the cupcake to separate the plug from the main cupcake. The plug will come out of the cupcake with the cutter. I used a baby spoon add the lemon/Cool Whip filling. I cut a small sliver, about a quarter inch thick, off the cake plug and placed that sliver on top of the filling to close things up again. The rest of the plug I saved to put on the top of the cupcake.

After I had all the cupcakes filled, I made some lemon, vanilla bean buttercream and piped it on each cupcake. I used the Wilton Buttercream recipe for my base, added some lemon flavoring, and replaced the regular vanilla with vanilla bean paste. This was the end result:

These cupcakes had a very delicate lemon flavor and I thought they were quite nice. My husband, however, said that I should have just made vanilla cupcakes. He prefers the more in-you-face lemon flavor, I guess. I was just impressed that he had tried one in the first place since he tends to boycott my baking endeavors. Everyone else loved them, though, and they quickly disappeared!

I ended up with a lot of the lemon filling mixture left over and I had a really yummy sounding plan for how to use it…but that’s a whole other post in itself!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

