Evil Yumminess in the Land of Giant Cupcakes

April 6, 2010

Easter Bunny Cake

Filed under: Bunny,Cake,coconut,Easter,Rabbit — by queenofevilyumminess @ 1:49 PM

I pestered my mom into telling me what kind of cake she wanted for her birthday, and she said she wanted a version of the Coconut Neapolitan Cupcakes, but in the shape of a bunny or egg. We were celebrating her birthday on Easter this year since the two were so close together.

I was thrilled since that meant I got to buy a new cake pan, once again to my husband’s dismay. I couldn’t find the pan that I wanted on such short notice, so I just bought the Wilton Bunny Pan (http://www.wilton.com/store/site/product.cfm?sku=2105-2074).

Since the pan instructions said it used any two-layer cake mix, I opted to just doctor up a single white cake mix. I mixed up the white cake mix with the coconut cream pudding (dry). Then divided the batter into three even portions. One portion I left alone. One portion I added strawberry flavoring and some pink food color. The last portion I added about two tablespoons of cocoa powder. Then I layered the cake batter as best as I could, which turned out to be not very well. I think it would have been easier to layer if I had done the three separate cake mixes, but then I would have had a ton of left over batter and ended up with too much batter in the pan. It worked out the way I did it, though.

I switched up the icing a little, too. My mom doesn’t really like sweet, sweet icing. So, instead of using milk or half & half in the buttercream like I usually do, I used heaving whipping cream. I had to use around three times as much of the whipping cream as I would have with the other options, for whatever reason, but it turned out really nice. It was a lot lighter and fluffier and had a really nice whipped cream flavor to it. She loved it. The only drawback is that the cake needed to be refrigerated since I had used the whipping cream for the icing.

So, anyway, here’s the end result…

I had planned on icing it and then using coconut to make it look furry; however, my mom has a thing about dried out coconut, so she asked that I find another way to make it look like fur.  I iced the cake and then took me icing knife and tapped the icing lightly so that it pulled out little peaks all over the bunny. I thought it looked very furry and gave a nice effect. Here’s a little closer look at the face and some of the “furry” icing…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

