Evil Yumminess in the Land of Giant Cupcakes

April 1, 2010

Neopolitan Coconut Cupcakes

Filed under: coconut,Cupcake — by queenofevilyumminess @ 10:25 AM

Do you remember the Sundaes Neapolitan Coconut candies from Brach’s? If not, here’s a little reminder. They look like this…

Except that in the olden days, they used to have a caramel stripe, too. I was inspired by these little puppies the other day and decided to try making a cupcake that evoked the true Sundaes spirit. I’m not sure how close I got, but the result was a pretty dang yummy cupcake.

I tend to bake with cake mixes simply because I’m lazy. It doesn’t really required a lot of extra work to make things from scratch when you have a finished recipe already; however, it does take some time to find a good recipe that you can alter to fit your needs. Plus, you never know how it is going to turn out. I find it is much easier to just add stuff to a cake mix.

The first time I made these (sorry no pictures) I used a single box of white cake mix. I added a box of coconut cream instant pudding (dry) to the mix and prepared as directed on the box, with the exception of using 1/3 cup of oil instead of the 2 tbsp of oil the box recommends. I then divided up the batter into three equal portions. One I left completely alone. One I added strawberry flavoring and some pink food coloring to make the color more boldly pink. The last one I added about 3 tbsp of cocoa powder. I then layered the different flavors of batter in a cupcake pan. Once they were cooled, I added a mixture of store-bought caramel sundae topping and coconut instead of icing. Everyone thought they were really good, but I wasn’t happy with the way the turned out.

So, I tried again. This time, I used three separate cake mixes. A plain white one, a plain strawberry one, and a butter recipe chocolate one. I prepared each separately and added a box of coconut cream instant pudding (dry) to each bowl of batter. I also added a little bit of coconut cream (like what you would use to make a pina colada drink) to get some extra flavor in the cupcakes. Another addition was some Kraft Caramel Bits (like teeny little caramel balls). You can find these in the baking section with all the chocolate chips.

I opted to use a King Size cupcake pan and liners this time so that I didn’t have to be quite so exacting in the amount of batter for each layer in each cupcake. I used the following order when building the cupcakes: white cake, caramel bits, strawberry cake, chocolate cake.

Now, I wanted to incorporate more of the caramel flavor into the cupcake, but don’t like the caramel flavoring that Watkins makes. It just doesn’t work for me. So, as I was mixing up the buttercream, I added a couple of big spoonfuls of the leftover caramel from the previous trial. The icing turned out really yummy, but I wish I had some homemade caramel to use instead of the store-bought stuff. Maybe next time.

So, with no further ado… (drum roll): “I am Cupcake…hear me ROAR!!!”

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

